# CPDM DISTINGUISHED LECTURE SERIES

## ADVANCED DESIGN and MANUFACTURING

Centre for Product Design and Manufacturing

Venue : MMCR, CPDM 26 July, 2016 | 14 : 30



Indian Institute of Science Bangalore

### **R&D SUPPORT TO MAKE IN INDIA**

#### Dr Anil Kakodkar

INAE Satish Dhawan Chair of Engineering Eminence Bhabha Atomic Research Centre, India

#### **Abstract :**

India's manufacturing sector envisages a potential of around US \$ one trillion by the year 2025, accounting for around 25 to 30 percent of national GDP. Thrust to Make in India campaign is thus very important. In addition to setting up appropriate manufacturing infrastructure and training of human resource with relevant skills, it would be necessary to link up the manufacturing activities with appropriate knowledge and research domains within the country. This would enable a deeper assimilation of technologies and build the capability to keep the technology rejuvenated as well as innovate further and remain competitive. The lecture would discuss some of the related issues and actions.

#### **Bio**:

Anil Kakodkar has his BE (Mech. Engineering) from the Bombay University in 1963 and MSc. in Experimental Stress Analysis from Nottingham University, UK in 1969. He joined Bhabha Atomic Research Centre (BARC) in 1964. He became the Director of BARC in 1996 and was the Chairman, Atomic Energy Commission and Secretary to the Government of India, Department of Atomic Energy, during 2000-2009. He was DAE Homi Bhabha Chair Professor at BARC during 2010-2015. Currently he holds the INAE Satish Dhawan Chair of Engineering Eminence at BARC. Presently Dr. Kakodkar devotes his time primarily on issues related to energy, education and societal development. Dr. Kakodkar has published over 250 scientific papers and reports. He is Fellow (and past President) of Indian National Academy of Engineering, Indian Academy of Sciences, the National Academy of Sciences, India, and Maharashtra Academy of Sciences. 23 universities awarded him Honorary doctoral degrees. He was awarded the Padma Vibhushan, India's second highest civilian honour, on Jan 26, 2009.



